MASS GATHERING PERMIT PROCESS

From time to time, businesses or organizations may seek to hoid events in
unincorporated areas of Bailey County which would qualify as a Mass Gathering
under the Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 751 which states:

1.) “Mass Gathering” means a gathering:
a. Thank s held outside the limits of a municipality;
b. That attracts or is expected to attract;
i. More than 2,500 persons or
ii. More than 500 persons, if 51 percent or more of those
persons may reasonably be expected to be younger than 21
years of age and it is planned or may reasonably be
expected that alcoholic beverages will be sold, served or
consumed at or around the gathering; and
¢. At which the persons will remain
i. For more than 5 continuous hours; or
ii. For any amount of time during the period beginning at 10
P.M. and ending at 4 A.M.

Additionally, permit is required for those events including “a horse or greyhound
race that attracts or is expected to attract at least 100 persons, except that this
chapter does not apply if the race is held at a location at which pari-mutual
wagering is authorized under the Texas Racing Act.” See Tex. Health and Safety
Code 751.0021.

If the event plans you or your organization have, meet the above requirements, an
application from the coordinator, manager, organizer, or promoter of such an
event must be received in the County Judge’s office not less than 45 days before
the event. An application may be obtained by request form the County Judge's
office at (906) 272-3077 during normal business hours. There is a $500
application fee (nonrefundable)} and a $250 fire marshal inspection fee
(nonrefundable) and a $250 health inspection fee (nonrefundable) due at the time



of filing of the application. Additional cost deposit may be required for law
enforcement at the time a permit is considered.

A public hearing will be conducted no later than ten (10) days before the event. A
person may not promote a mass gathering without a permit issued by the County
Judge, pursuant to Section 751.003 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. A person
commits an offense if the person violates Section 751.003. An offense under this
section is misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $1000.00,
confinement in the county jail for not more than 90 days, or both. The County
Judge’s office will coordinate the hearing date and time with all affected parties.
The hearing will be posted as a public meeting.

Representatives from the county health officer, fire marshal, Texas Department of
Public Safety and the Sheriff’s Office will attend the hearing to ensure that the
minimum standards in health and sanitation, fire safety and public safety and
order are maintained at the gathering as prescribed by state and local laws, rules
and orders.

Following the public hearing, the County Judge will grant or deny the permit as
authorized by Section751.007 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. A copy of the
applicable sections of the statute may be obtained from the Bailey County Judge’s
Office.

This Mass Gathering Order was implemented in 2018, by the Bailey County
Commissioner’s Court.



